my 21 birthday

This year my birthday was special. I attended kind of a meeting with all people who volunteer in church. The EA-Kongress took place in Linz from 3-5.November. It was cool to meet new people all around Austria, which do the same thing you. People, who belive in the same thing as you and to meet people, who know the struggles you go through in church.

So I celebrated my birthday with 50 other random people I have never met before. We all hung out, talked about life and drank wine. It was wonderful. When I got home on Sunday, my auncle was waiting for me to say happy birthday. Not long after he left, my godparents and our priest came around. We talked about life and how my weekend was and so on. On Monday my granny came and we celebrated with her a little bit.

All in all, it was pretty normal. (Exept that I was not home on my birthday, but birthday is just a date, right?) The one thing that was not like it always had been was that I did not get a present from my family. I got money from granny, duh. But my parents and my brother gave me nothing. To be honest, they did not have to give me something. I am old enough that I get that and if I need anything, I buy it myself. So I could not tell you, what I would have wanted for my birthday, but it would have been nice to receive a card or whatever. They literally texted me for my birthday. I mean, I know that my mum will probably buy something in Amsterdam next month and call it „my birthday present“ but it would have been nice to get something, you know?

It feels weird to celebrate birthday and not get any presents from the parents. Or maybe I feel that way because I always love to give presents to others. I always look for a good present months before the birthday is actually happening. I love looking for the right gift and I love to give. If I could choose between receiving a present and giving one, I would 99 out of 100 times say that I prefer to give. Maybe that is why it feels so weird to me to not receive, because I always have a gift ready for anyone.

 

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar